Since the State of Illinois requires all drivers to carry auto insurance
, you will most likely already have insurance before renting. The big question, however, is if it extends its coverage to rental vehicles.
Some insurance companies in Illinois already have some sort of built-in rental coverage along with the primary policy so long as the rental was for personal use. The insurance, however, may be available if you have comprehensive or collision coverage. You will have to verify this with your insurer to make sure you are covered before renting.
If car rental insurance is not included in your personal policy, you may contact your credit card company if they cover rental insurance if you charge the cost to your credit card. If they do, this will most likely be just physical damage coverage and not liability coverage. This means they will not cover the “diminished value” gap – the value of the car before and after the accident – and the “loss of use” which is the rental’s daily lost income while under repair.
If you’ve exhausted the other two options and are left with getting rental insurance, make sure you read the agreement. Car rental insurance may get relatively higher than your daily base rental fee, ranging from $9 to $30 daily additional expense on top of the daily rent. While car rentals may offer insurance in the agreement, stolen vehicles may not be covered.
We see you as a person, not just a client – and that makes us better at what we do. We listen. We learn your story. And, as we help you get the money you deserve, we go above and beyond in a way most law firms never could and never would. Because we’re not just lawyers. And you’re not just a client. We’re friends, neighbors, family. We’re all people and here at Mike Agruss Law, we put people first.
A lot of personal injury lawyers
raise their contingency fee throughout the process, charging 1/3 if the case is settled pre-suit, charging 40% if the case is filed after a lawsuit is filed, and charging 50% if the case goes to trial. We don’t. At Mike Agruss Law, our personal injury
contingency fee is always 1/3 and that’s not changing. We will handle your property damage claim FOR FREE. We will never change our contingency fee throughout the process. You will not owe us a penny unless you get money. Our unique formula has earned us over 1,000 outstanding client reviews
on our website, an A+ BBB rating
, and over 145 five-star reviews on Google
. Call 888-572-0176, e-mail us at [email protected]
or schedule a meeting with us here
. We’re here 24/7.