In response to persistent auto accidents, the State of Illinois legislated and enacted the Illinois Vehicle Code
. This requires drivers in Illinois and those passing by the state to secure auto insurances. The primary auto coverage required by the State of Illinois is the liability coverage.
Securing a liability coverage will help you pay for damages to another person’s vehicle or bodily injury provided you are the at-fault driver. Simply put, this coverage is for the benefit of other drivers, pedestrians, and even properties in the case of your negligent driving. This coverage is further divided into two: Bodily injury (BI) and Property Damage (PD).
- Bodily Injury (BI) – insures pedestrians, passengers of another car, and, possibly, your own passengers who are not members of your household. Per the state’s law, the BI is at least $25,000 per person per accident and, at most, $50,000 for two or more persons per accident.
- Property Damage (PD) – bears the expense of vehicle damage to another person or property like fences, poles, and buildings. PD in Illinois is at least $20,000 per accident.
Your insurance carrier will find and hire a lawyer for you in the event of a vehicular accident lawsuit. They will also cover for liability coverage in case you are found at fault. If you have additional coverages, your insurance carrier may also cover your personal expenses like medical bills and car repairs.
If you wish for a personal insurance to cover vehicular repairs, you may opt to get Physical Damage Coverage. This type offers collision and comprehensive coverages. It may also cover you or a passenger’s medical bills even when you are the at fault driver. Note that driving in Illinois without auto coverage has corresponding fines of at least $500 for first and second offenses.
We see you as a person, not just a client – and that makes us better at what we do. We listen. We learn your story. And, as we help you get the money you deserve, we go above and beyond in a way most law firms never could and never would. Because we’re not just lawyers. And you’re not just a client. We’re friends, neighbors, family. We’re all people and here at Mike Agruss Law, we put people first.
A lot of personal injury lawyers raise their contingency fee throughout the process, charging 1/3 if the case is settled pre-suit, charging 40% if the case is filed after a lawsuit is filed, and charging 50% if the case goes to trial. We don’t. At Mike Agruss Law, our personal injury contingency fee is always 1/3 and that’s not changing. We will handle your property damage claim FOR FREE. We will never change our contingency fee throughout the process. You will not owe us a penny unless you get money. Our unique formula has earned us over 1,000 outstanding client reviews
on our website, an A+ BBB rating
, and over 145 five-star reviews on Google
. Call 888-572-0176, e-mail us at [email protected]
or schedule a meeting with us here
. We’re here 24/7.