The Illinois Vehicle Code
requires drivers to carry auto insurances for the driver and the public’s safety. Auto insurance offers liability coverage which is used to pay for property damage or bodily injury to another person e.g. medical bills and vehicle repairs. Liability Coverage is divided into two:
- Bodily Injury (BI) – insures pedestrians, passengers of another car, and, possibly, your own passengers who are not members of your household. Per the state’s law, the BI is at least $25,000 per person per accident and, at most, $50,000 for two or more persons per accident.
- Property Damage (PD) – bears the expense of vehicle damage to another person or property like fences, poles, and buildings. PD in Illinois is at least $20,000 per accident.
Note that the liability coverage will not insure you for your injuries or damages to personal property. You will need to add a Physical Damage Coverage
to your policy which is divided into collision coverage (when your vehicle collides with another vehicle or tips over) and comprehensive coverage (for incidents apart from collision e.g. theft, falling tree).
Failure to secure an auto insurance policy while driving in Illinois may cost you between $500 to $1,000 for first and second offenses. Additionally, your license will be suspended for three months with a $100 reinstatement fee, and your vehicle registration will also be suspended. Meaning, you or another person – even someone with a license – may not drive the vehicle around. In case of multiple offenses, fines will be at least $1,000.
We see you as a person, not just a client – and that makes us better at what we do. We listen. We learn your story. And, as we help you get the money you deserve, we go above and beyond in a way most law firms never could and never would. Because we’re not just lawyers. And you’re not just a client. We’re friends, neighbors, family. We’re all people and here at Mike Agruss Law, we put people first.
A lot of personal injury lawyers raise their contingency fee throughout the process, charging 1/3 if the case is settled pre-suit, charging 40% if the case is filed after a lawsuit is filed, and charging 50% if the case goes to trial. We don’t. At Mike Agruss Law, our personal injury contingency fee is always 1/3 and that’s not changing. We will handle your property damage claim FOR FREE. We will never change our contingency fee throughout the process. You will not owe us a penny unless you get money. Our unique formula has earned us over 1,000 outstanding client reviews
on our website, an A+ BBB rating
, and over 145 five-star reviews on Google
. Call 888-572-0176, e-mail us at [email protected]
or schedule a meeting with us here
. We’re here 24/7.