Skip to content
Michael Agruss

Written and Reviewed by Michael Agruss

  • Managing Partner and Personal Injury Lawyer at Mike Agruss Law.
  • Over 20 years of experience in Personal Injury.
  • Over 8000+ consumer rights cases settled.
  • Graduated from the University of Illinois Chicago School of Law: Juris Doctor, 2004.

Almost every state in the U.S. requires drivers to carry a minimum level of liability car insurance if they cause an accident, and Illinois is no different. Along with the required liability car insurance, all Illinois policies come automatically with uninsured motorist coverage (UIM) with limits that are equal to the policy’s injury liability coverage.

Illinois Law

Illinois’ mandatory insurance law, 625 ILCS 5/7-601, requires Illinois drivers to carry liability insurance coverage of at least $25,000 per person/$50,000 per incident/$20,000 for property damage. This coverage does not cover the at-fault driver for any injuries or property damage, but additional coverage, such as collision, PIP, and MedPay, can be carried for this reason.

If a car is stopped during a traffic stop and does not carry this minimum mandatory insurance, the driver will face the following penalties:

  • $500 minimum fine
  • $1000 minimum fine if you are caught driving with suspended plates
  • Suspension of license

“Fault” Car Accident State

Financial responsibility following a car accident falls upon the shoulders of the at-fault party in the state of Illinois. This means the negligent party is responsible for property damages, injuries, and other losses for anyone who was harmed due to the crash.

Following a car accident in Illinois, the injured party can typically do one of three things:

  • File a third-party claim with the negligent driver’s insurance company
  • File a claim with their own insurance company (if the accident is covered under their own policy)
  • File a civil case

If you’ve been injured in an auto accident due to another driver’s negligence, the car accident lawyers at Mike Agruss Law are here for you every step of the way to ensure that your rights are protected, and you are fully compensated for your injuries and losses.

We at Mike Agruss Law are proud to serve our fellow citizens in personal injury cases, especially when you or a loved one has been injured in an auto accident, and we are fully committed to protecting your rights and ensuring that the other party is held legally accountable when negligence occurs. We will fight until the very end to ensure that you are fully compensated for all injuries and losses resulting from the accident, including medical expenses, property damage, lost wages, and pain and suffering, and you won’t owe us a dime for our services.

If you or a loved one has been injured in an auto accident due to another driver’s negligence, contact the personal injury lawyers at Mike Agruss Law for a free consultation. Helping our clients is about counseling, advocating, and ultimately solving problems. With years of experience successfully representing the people and not the powerful, we will take care of the insurance adjusters, your medical bills, your property damage, and your lost wages, and monitor your treatment so you can focus on healing and getting your life back to normal. We will handle your case quickly and advise you every step of the way, and we will not hesitate to go to trial for you.

Lastly, Mike Agruss Law is not paid attorneys’ fees unless we win your case. Our no-fee promise is that simple. You have nothing to risk when you hire us – only the opportunity to seek justice.

We are listening

We will respond to you at lightning speed. All of your information will be kept confidential.

Form successfully submitted!

Submitted Comments

No Comments submitted yet. Sharing your story will help others!