Hit And Run Accidents
Responsibility is the most crucial word in a driver's lexicon. When a person gets a driver’s license, they assume a duty of care. A duty of care is defined as an obligation not to cause foreseeable harm to another person. Therefore, one must drive defensively and follow all the rules of the road when they operate a motor vehicle.
When a person hits a person or another car and drives away without reporting it to the police, they neglect the responsibility to which their driver's license obligated them.
If a hit-and-run driver has injured you, you not only have to deal with physical pain and multiple medical appointments, you may be wondering how you are going to pay the bills. However, if the person who hit you is still at large, there are still some ways you can receive compensation for your injuries.
Hit and Run Statistics Illinois
According to the National Health Institute, the pandemic resulted in fewer cars on the road. Unfortunately, this caused an increase in accidents as people felt safer speeding. As a result, the number of people caught driving over 100 miles an hour increased.
A study by AAA revealed that there was a hit-and-run accident every minute in the United States. Furthermore, hit and run accidents appear to be increasing on an annual basis.
2016 saw 2000 deaths from hit and run. The majority of hit-and-run victims are pedestrians or bicyclists.
Penalties for Hit and Run Drivers
- Hit and Run is a Class 2 felony punishable by a jail sentence of 2 to 14 years.
- A hit-and-run driver is likely to lose their license forever.
- If a driver is caught on a hit and run, they may have to pay a fine of up to $25,000.
Motivations for Hit and Run Accidents
Given the harsh punishments for hit and run, you may wonder why anyone would ever try it. In many cases, it happens because the person is intoxicated and does not want to face criminal charges for DUI. In other cases, they may have prior charges, and there may be a warrant out for their arrest. In addition, they may not have any auto insurance or any money and have no means of paying for an accident.
What to do if You are Injured by a Hit and Run Driver
Whenever you are in a car accident, you should contact the police and wait for them to arrive. You should also get the name and number of anyone who might have seen the accident and especially gotten a license plate number. Ask local business owners if they have security cameras that might have captured video of the collision.
Tell the law enforcement officer anything that you remember about the car. For example, if there are track marks or car parts on the street, you should take pictures.
Be sure to hire a reputable car accident lawyer. You can contact us today for a free consultation and advice.
Who pays the medical bills in a hit-and-run accident?
Illinois is a fault state when it comes to auto insurance. This means that a person who is responsible for an accident is responsible for paying its associated bills.
When a driver hits and runs, their insurance is null and void even if they are caught, a traffic violation becomes a crime when a person hits and runs.
If the driver is eventually caught, you can sue them for your medical expenses and damages to your car. In addition, if your injuries were severe enough, you might be able to sue the driver for pain and suffering. The problem with doing this is that they may not have any money, and it may not be worth taking them to court.
If it turns out the person was drunk when they hit you, and you can prove it, you may be able to sue the bar that served them alcohol.
If you were in a car when the hit-and-run happened or if your parked vehicle was sideswiped, your insurance may pay for the accident if you had uninsured driver coverage.
If you were walking or on a bicycle when you were struck by a car, and you have auto insurance, you can file a claim with your own insurance company. You can also file a claim with the insurance company of anyone you live with. If you do not have auto insurance, you will have to rely on your medical insurance to pay your bills. There are some government and private funds that may help you if you do not have either kind of insurance.
Where We Come In
Although uninsured driver compensation should pay for your injuries, insurance companies are rarely willing to give you all the money you need for your full recovery. However, we have years of experience negotiating with insurance adjusters and getting you a fair settlement.
If they find the hit-and-run driver, you can negotiate with their insurance company or sue them if they do not have insurance. Our team of personal injury attorneys is well-versed in Illinois traffic law and will research your case thoroughly to get you every penny you deserve.
Car Accident Pages
How Much Insurance Should Trucks Carry Under Federal Law?
Only Eight States Require Seat Belts on School Buses – Why?
Scott's Law: The "Move Over" Law
Fertile Ground for FCRA Claims: Employee & Tenant Background Checks
That “Frightening” Letter from a Debt Collection Agency Could Be for Overdue Library Books
No Comments submitted yet. Sharing your story will help others!